Lupus · Sicky

Warning: Flare Ahead 

Recently I’ve been thinking about my first flare and whether there were any signs or some kind of signal that could have foretold the pain that I was soon going to be in. 

Pretty sure a flare feels exactly like being trampled by a T-Rex. 

And I’m starting to think that (for me mind you) my immune system whacked out much sooner that I initially realized. While I was initially diagnosed with Lupus and APS in the Spring/Early Summer of 2010, my joints and legs had been painful since the very beginning of January. I waited several months before seeing a doctor about my joints for two reason; fear of what they would tell me and a lack of insurance.  

Looking back, I think my immune system might have been trying to tell me something was wrong much earlier than that. The Spring/Summer before my diagnosis I had was dealing with a horrible bout of multiple UTIs AND yeast infections. Within a 5 to 6 month period was treated for 5 UTIs and 2 yeast infections.  

 

Now maybe you’re thinking – “So what? I’ve had a yeast infection before” – but I had NEVER had either of these two things. A 24 year who suddenly has multiple UTIs and yeast infections with no history of it before then. It was weird. Not only that – the medicine didn’t seem to work. I went through several different antibiotics in an attempt to find the one that would kill the germs.  A few months after I got those issues under control, I was hit with the fatigue. At the time I didn’t think much about it. I had just graduated from graduate school and was searching for a full time position while working at a local store. I was busy and thought it was just stress. But it got worse. To the point where I would come home and beg my boyfriend at the time to just go to bed instead of going out (my exhaustion eventually caused the boyfriend and I to break up (among other things), thank god). And by the end of the winter and I was in a full blown flare.  

Hindsight is 20/20 – at the time, I had no idea that all these crazy things happen might be related to each other (technically, I still don’t but it makes sense to me). Skip forward a few years, and low and behold – it’s happening again. This Spring/Summer I’ve been dealing with multiple sinus and ear infections (and multiple antibiotics) and now soul crushing fatigue (and oddly enough, insomnia). Maybe I’m wrong. Hell, I HOPE I’m wrong. I don’t want to go through the pain of another full blown flare – mini flares are bad enough. 

2 thoughts on “Warning: Flare Ahead 

  1. Wow! Reading your entry was a little scary for me as it was reminiscent of the last few months of my life… Every time I got over one thing I got hit with another. Are you feeling better? How often does this happen?

    1. Unfortunately, no actually been dealing with some issues (that may or may not be linked to my lupus/aps). Not often. I haven’t had a bought of recurrent problems like this since around 2010

Leave a Reply

